What We Do

Electrofringe is a presenting platform for experimental electronic and tech-based art in Australia. Through an annual program of unique exhibitions and events, Electrofringe seeks to foster innovative works and creative practices that use technology in new and exciting ways. Electrofringe focuses on putting artists and their works in the same place at the same time to encourage artistic exchange, development and dialogue.


Our Mission

To lead the way in consistently supporting emerging electronic and tech-based artists through the presentation of work and ideas; To lead the way in nurturing a vital culture of experimental electronic and tech-based art in Australia through innovative programming and engagement with audiences.




Electrofringe was established.


2001 to 2011

The Electrofringe Festival was presented as a five-day annual festival in Newcastle, NSW as part of a group of festivals which come together under the banner of This is Not Art (TiNA).


2004 to 2008

Electrofringe collaborated with The Night Air, a sound collage program on ABC Radio National, to remix and showcase content from the festival and, in some years, broadcasting live from the Electrofringe Festival.



A workshop in Sydney with international artists Troika Ranch Dance Theatre, New York was offered to local artists. Artists also travelled from Newcastle, Adelaide and Melbourne to attend. The workshop was on the use of interactive audio-visual software in live installations and performances.


Japan Media Arts Festival – Artistic Director represented Electrofringe at the festival presenting a talk. A film screening of works from Electrofringe was shown for a month at the festival exhibition.



Elektra Festival, Montreal – Artistic Director represented Electrofringe at the festival presenting a seminar.



Cellsbutton #3 Festival, Yoyakarta, Indonesia – Artistic Director represented Electrofringe at the festival presenting a talk. A screening of works from Electrofringe was also shown.



Best of Electrofringe Showcase at Campbelltown Arts Centre – Performances from artists from the 2010 Electrofringe program.


Electrofringe in Townsville – An electronic arts exhibition of cutting edge Australian artists curated by Electrofringe and the School of Creative Arts in partnership with eMerge Media Space, School of Creative Arts, James Cook University, and Cereal Box (Renew Townsville).



Electrofringe took a break from TiNA to to celebrate its 15th year with a change in focus and a new direction.



Electrofringe developed its programming model to incorporate a year-round calendar of events.


Electrolapse – A 30-minute collection of new experimental video art which addressed the themes of system failure, manipulation, distortion and opportunity. It was part of an exhibition titled If A System Fails In A Forest… presented by ISEA (International Symposium of Electronic Art).


Electrofringe Showcase – Presented at the Hunter St TAFE as part of TiNA, the Showcase brought together 25 of the most exciting and innovative new media and electronic art projects from around Australia and internationally. Exhibiting artists were presented with their artworks, giving audiences the opportunity to explore, experience, interact and provide feedback.



Electrolapse BYOB at Vivid Ideas – Founded by notorious internet artist Rafael Rozendaal in 2011, Bring Your Own Beamer (BYOB) is an international phenomenon where artists are invited to bring their own projector to the event and screen work on any available surface. Electrolapse BYOB was a two-day event that took place at Pier 2/3 Walsh Bay, as part of Vivid Ideas.



Game Set Patch – An afternoon of electronic art and sport presented in association with Brand X at Tempe Jets Sports Hall.


Electrofringe @ IRL – An interactive exhibition exploring the spaces where the real and virtual collide, presented at Brisbane Powerhouse as part of IRL Digital Festival.


To date, past Directors and Artistic Co-Producers of Electrofringe have included Nick Rittar, Sean Healy, Joni Taylor, Shannon O’Neill, Gail Priest, Vicky Clare, Wade Marynowsky, Sumugan Sivanesan, Cat Jones, Ben Byrne, Alex White, Melissa Delaney, Elmar Trefz, Matthew Gingold, Somaya Langley, Daniel Green, Estee Wah, Cara-Ann Simpson and Peter Fitzgibbon.



Email: roslyn at electrofringe dot net


Company Details

Electrofringe Ltd. incorporated as a not-for-profit Australian public company limited by guarantee in 2008.

ACN 129 981 095
ABN 38 129 981 095
TFN 878776021